Kāravkalns Hillfort is in Lībagi Parish, 150 m from the old Talsi–Lībagi road, four kilometres from Talsi, not far beyond Lake Mundigi.
The first evidence of the existence of Kāravkalns Hillfort was obtained in the summer of 1934 by archaeologist Eduards Šturms, and in 1937 the newly-discovered hillfort was surveyed by the team of archaeologists excavating Talsi Hillfort under the direction of Ādolfs Karnups. Also, a legend was recorded that shepherds had seen a white billy-goat with golden horns on the hill.
Kāravkalns is a small hill (with a plateau measuring 20´40 m), which, in terms of its morphology – it has a bank at one end of the plateau – belongs to a characteristic form of Late Iron Age hillforts in Kurzeme. The 0.5–0.7 m-thick, charcoal-rich cultural layer observable on the plateau and the gentle slope west of the hillfort’s bank (the possible site of an outer bailey) indicates that Kāravkalns was quite intensively inhabited in antiquity.
On the eastern side of Kāravkalns is an isolated, round hill, whose form is reminiscent of the cult hills found near Couronian hillforts, but it has not been possible to establish whether this hill had any specific name of its own, which might indicate whether it can be regarded as a cult site corresponding to the hillfort. There is evidence that various cult rituals formerly took place by the old oak at the southern end of Lake Mundigi.